My ER Visit

As you’ve seen by some of my other recent posts, I was recently in the emergency department due to pain. The pain in this case was not due to fibromyalgia or endometriosis or any of my other chronic conditions. Or at least I didn’t think so. I was concerned about a blood clot due to the AshraZeneca vaccine I had received the week prior.

Summary of that ER visit, I don’t have a blood clot. I’m fine.

At the ER, due to possible AZ issues, *not* Fibromyalgia, and *not* OsteoArthritis.. So it’s still been over a year since me last FM/OA pain crisis.

But the point of this post is that I have not been to the emergency room since before COVID started. 10, 12, even 14 years ago I was a frequent flyer at Centenary Hospital in Scarborough. I was there about once a month and it was not unusual to be there multiple times in one month. It actually got to the point where I knew the department head by name, and he knew me, by name. In the grand scheme of things, that not generally a good thing.

Even after I had moved back from Scarborough to Oshawa I was still going to the emergency room every 2 to 3 months due to my fibromyalgia & OA pain.

Butt as things have gotten more manageable, as my weight has decreased, my fitness level has increased, my diet has improved, my medications have been cut back and altered in a positive way, I have become healthier and healthier. I have, with the help of my doctor’s, been able to better manage many of my symptoms of Fibromyalgia & OA.

The other day I was actually thinking about when my last visit to the emergency room was. I realized that it’s been over a year because my last visit was prior to COVID shutting down the world last March. I think I may have been in the ER after Cub camp on the family day weekend in 2020.

But think about it. I used to be going for regular ER visits to help control my pain. Now, it’s been over a year since I’ve been in a the RR, and still not for FM/OA related pain.

How Awesome Is That?!?

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment